It doesn’t matter if you are looking for a massage in Mississippi for relaxation, rejuvenation, or rehabilitation purposes, you should only use a qualified massage therapist. It is relatively easy to obtain the services of a massage therapist from a hotel, casino, spa, resort, wellness center, private practice, mobile private practice, etc.. A simple flip thorough the local yellow pages or call to the hotel front desk, and you will have a massage therapy session in no time.
However, the most important thing is that you insist that the massage therapist is licensed to offer the massage service. Obtaining a massage from a certified practitioner will ensure that you receive a service from someone that has proven essential skills and knowledge. The chance of injury is greatly increased when the massage therapist is not educated and licensed. It is also against Mississippi law for someone to offer a massage service without the required education and credentials.
Likewise, if you are someone seeking to provide a massage in Mississippi, then you should never offer massage services until you have completed the required training and obtained your credentials.
Mississippi Massage Therapy Regulatory Board
The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy is the regulatory board and licensing organization for massage therapists in Mississippi. Their mission is to promote the highest standards of professionalism, ensure quality of care, and safeguard the health of the general public.
Mississippi requires that a massage therapist take either the NCETMB (National Certification Exam for Massage Therapy and Bodywork) or the Mississippi examination for licensure before offering massage services. The massage therapist must also complete 700 hours of massage therapy training from an accredited school and obtain CPR and First Aid training.
Mississippi Massage Therapy Licensing Fees
The application and licensing fee for a Mississippi massage therapist is $200.00 for the Mississippi state exam, $50.00 for the application fee, and $192.00 for a two year renewable licensure. There are also permit fees for some massage therapists, but these depend on how the massage therapist is employed- home, clinic, mobile private practice, etc…
Massage Therapy Colleges and Schools in Mississippi
There are multiple Mississippi colleges and schools that offer the required 700 hours of massage therapy training. Most all of the programs provide courses in: method of massage, client evaluation technique, kinesiology, physiology, anatomy, reflexology, and massage therapy ethics related to state law and regulations. Some accredited schools are:
Antonelli College in Jackson, MS and Hattiesburg, MS.
Blue Cliff College in Gulfport, MS
Healing Touch School of Massage Therapy in Hattiesburg, MS
Mississippi School of Therapeutic Massage in Jackson, MS
Natural Healing Arts School of Massage Therapy in Oxford, MS
Southwest MS Community College in Summit, MS
Virginia College of Biloxi in Biloxi, MS
Waldrip Center for Therapeutic Massage in Tupelo, MS
How Much Is A Massage In Mississippi
The massage fee greatly depends on where you get the massage and type (Swedish, myofascial, Reflexology, therapeutic, deep tissue massage, etc.) and where you obtain the massage from. Average prices range between $50.00 and $60.00 for a full-hour massage. A half-hour massage averages around $35.00.